BURGLARY & CRIMINAL TRESPASS

TEXAS PENAL CODE
TITLE 7. OFFENSES AGAINST THE PROPERTY
CHAPTER 30. BURGLARY & CRIMINAL TRESPASS

The following is a brief explanation of Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code regarding Burglary and Criminal Trespass. This is not to be construed as legal advice for any particular case. See also the full text of the Chapter 30 – Burglary and Criminal Trespass.

What is BURGLARY?

Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code governs the crime of BURGLARY in Texas.

Under Section 30.02, BURGLARY is defined as follows:

  • BURGLARY occurs when a person enters a building or home without permission from the owner/tenant of that building or home, and the person has the intent to commit a felony, theft, or assault on the property.

BURGLARY is a second-degree-felony, which carries a punishment range of 2 to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

If the BURGLARY happens at a home with intent to commit a felony other than a felony theft then it is a felony of the first degree, which carries a punishment of up to 99 years confinement and a $10,000 fine.

What is BURGLARY OF A COIN-OPERATED MACHINE?

Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code governs the crime of BURGLARY OF A COIN-OPERATED MACHINE in Texas.

Under Section 30.03, BURGLARY OF A COIN OPERATED MACHINE is defined as follows:

  • A BURGLARY of a Coin-Operated Machine occurs when a person who breaks or breaks into a coin operated machine with intent to obtain property or services without to owner’s permission.

BURGLARY OF A COIN OPERATED MACHINE is a Class A Misdemeanor, which carries a punishment of up to 1 year in confinement and a fine of $4000.

What is BURGLARY OF A VEHICLE?

Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code governs the crime BURGLARY OF A VEHICLE in Texas.

Under Section 30.04, BURGLARY OF A VEHICLE is defined as follows:

  • BURGLARY OF A VEHICLE occurs when a person breaks into or enters any part of a vehicle with out the owner’s consent, and that person has the intended to commit a felony or theft.

BURGLARY OF A VEHICLE is a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a punishment of up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $4000.
• A second conviction is a minimum 6-month term of confinement.
• A third conviction is a state jail felony, which carries a punishment of 180 days to 2 years in state jail and a fine of up to $10,000.

What is CRIMINAL TRESPASS?

Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code governs the crime of CRIMINAL TRESPASS in Texas.

Under Section 30.05, CRIMINAL TRESPASS is defined in two ways, as follows:

  • A CRIMINAL TRESPASS occurs when a person that had notice that entry to the property of another was forbidden and the person enters anyway.
  • A CRIMINAL TRESPASS also occurs when a person who originally had consent to be on the property, but then the original consent is revoked, and the person does not leave the property.

CRIMINAL TRESPASS can range from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class C misdemeanor depending on the circumstances, which may carry a punishment of up to 1 year confinement and $4000 for a Class A misdemeanor.

What is TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH A CONCEALED HANDGUN?

Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code governs the crime of RESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH A CONCEALED HANDGUN in Texas.

Under Section 30.06, TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH A CONCEALED HANDGUN is defined, as follows:

  • A TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH A CONCEALED HANDGUN occurs when the license holder receives notice that entry on the property with a concealed handgun is forbidden and the license holder enters the property anyway.

TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH A CONCEALED HANDGUN is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $200.
• UNLESS the license holder was personally given notice by verbal communication, and failed to depart. Then the offense will be classified as a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 1 year and a $4000 fine.

What is TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH AN OPENLY CARRIED HANDGUN?

Chapter 30 of the Texas Penal Code governs the crime of RESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH AN OPENLY CARRIED HANDGUN in Texas.

Under Section 30.07, TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH AN OPENLY CARRIED HANDGUN is defined, as follows:

  • A TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH AN OPENLY CARRIED HANDGUN occurs when the license holder receives notice that entry on the property with an openly carried handgun is forbidden and the license holder enters the property anyway.

TRESPASS BY LICENSE HOLDER WITH AN OPENLY CARRIED HANDGUN is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $200.
• UNLESS the license holder was personally given notice by verbal communication, and failed to depart. Then the offense will be classified as a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 1 year and a $4000 fine.

FORT WORTH

Primary Location
209 W. 8th St
Fort Worth, TX 76102
817.993.9249

KELLER

*By Appointment Only
204 S. Main St #195
Keller, Texas 76248
817.482.6770

RELATED POSTS